I got an email today informing me that a domain was coming up for renewal. It was one I grabbed several years ago and – unlike many others– put some effort into. But I won't be renewing it, that idea hasn't been my focus for a long time and keeping it would be a distraction from the one or two things I am doing now.

The apostle Paul once wrote "this one thing I do". It's hard to argue against his influence even if you are an atheist. I'd suggest that this radical focus was a large contributor for his contribution.

It's not pursing bad things you need to worry about

When I was a teenager I was worried that I'd not get stuff done because I would spent too much time on bad things (or at least things which didn't bring value). In my late twenties I realised the issue had evolved. Now it was "good" things that might prevent me from doing good things.

By giving up this domain I'm ending that dream, but giving up that dream is the only way to bring into existence my remaining goals.

Or as Patrick Rhone might say,

Saying no is actually saying yes to other things.

Things I've learned this year