🎧 The Art of Manliness Podcast #628: The Rise of Secular Religion and the New Puritanism

In particular, Howland makes the case that what we’re seeing today is the rise of a kind of secular religion, a new Puritanism, that worships at what he calls “the Church of Humanity.” This new Puritanism bases the idea of moral purity around one’s views on issues like race and gender, and seeks to purge anyone who doesn’t adhere to the proscribed dogma.

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about “cancel culture” recently and what seems good as well as negative about it. This interview has certainly given me a lot to think about and I’d welcome critiques of Jacob’s views here. I wonder if he has misrepresented critical theorist views and I suspect that even if a critical theorist agreed with how he defined it, they might disagree about the practical outplaying in society.